HomePortalGalleryRegisterLog in

Share | 

 52 lawmakers sign vs. Aquino dole program

Go down 
Magic Man13

Posts : 1762
Join date : 2010-06-11
Age : 44
Location : Batangas City

PostSubject: 52 lawmakers sign vs. Aquino dole program    Thu Oct 14, 2010 11:25 am

MANILA, Philippines – Former President and now Pampanga Representative Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo’s signature to a manifesto opposing the allocation of P21.9 billion for conditional cash transfers (CCTs) has brought to 52 the number of congressmen who are against the dole program that Arroyo herself had initiated during her term.

The manifesto, drafted by militant partylist groups led by Bayan Muna, says the CCTs are “at the expense of more vital social and economic services.”

The budget for the CCTs is included in the P34.3 billion budget of the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), which will implement the program. The House of Representatives is currently deliberating on the budget of the agency.

Arroyo on Tuesday night took the floor and grilled the budget sponsor of the DSWD for three hours, questioning the department’s capacity to implement the program.
Several lawmakers said the CCT budget should instead be channeled to agencies that will make a long-term impact on the people.

“We hereby affirm our commitment to work for the realignment of funds from CCTs to our country's schools, hospitals, health centers, housing programs, agriculture and others that directly address the needs of the poor for jobs, livelihood and services,” the manifesto stated.
The signatories are:

Emil L. Ong, 2nd District, Northern Samar
Roger G. Mercado, Southern Leyte
Jane T. Castro, 2nd District, Capiz
Lani Mercado Revilla, 2nd Dist., Cavite
Leopoldo N. Bataoil, 2nd Dist., Pangasinan
Ma. Amelita C. Villarosa, Occidental Mindoro
Gloria M. Arroyo, 2nd Dist., Pampanga
F. Martin G. Romualdez, 1st Dist., Leyte
Aliah Dimaporo, 2nd Dist., Lanao del Norte
Simeon A. Datumanong, 2nd Dist., Maguindanao
Dato Arroyo, 2nd Dist., Camarines Sur
Edcel C. Lagman, 1st Dist., Albay
Aurelio Gonzales, 3rd Dist., Pampanga
Imelda Quibranza-Dimaporo, 1st Dist., Lanao del Norte
Danilo Suarez, 3rd Dist., Quezon Province
Robert M. Estrella, Abono Partylist
Carlos M. Padilla, Nueva Vizcaya
Angelo B. Palmones, Agham Partylist
Rafael V. Mariano, Anakpawis Partylist
Antonio L. Tinio, ACT Teachers Partylist
Teddy A. Casino, Bayan Muna Partylist
Godofredo V. Arquiza, Senior Citizens Partylist
Emmi A. de Jesus, Gabriela Women’s Partylist
David Kho, Senior Citizens Partylist
Mark Aeron Sambar, PBA Partylist
Reena Concepcion G. Obillo, Una ang Pamilya Partylist
Maximo B. Rodriguez Jr., Abante Mindanao Partylist
Randolph Ting, 3rd Dist., Isabela
Neri Javier Colmenares, Bayan Muna Partylist
Allan Velasco, Marinduque
Mitos Magsaysay, 1st Dist, Zambales
Luis R. Villafuerte, 3rd Dist., Camarines Sur
Catalina G. Leonen-Pizarro, ABS Partylist
Antonio C. Alvarez, 1st Dist., Palawan
Luzviminda Ilagan, Gabriela Women’s Partylist
Arnulfo F. Go, 2nd Dist., Sultan Kudarat
Marc Cagas, 1st Dist., Davao del Sur
Neil Montejo, An Waray Partylist
Raymond Palatino, Kabataan Partylist
Juan Edgardo M. Angara, Aurora
Joseph Victor Ejercito, San Juan
Gabriel Quisumbing, 6th Dist., Cebu
Kimi S. Cojuangco, 5th Dist., Pangasinan
Pablo P. Garcia, 2nd Dist., Cebu
Julieta R. Cortuna, A-Teacher Partylist
Emmeline Y. Aglipay, DIWA Partylist
Mariano U. Piamonte, A-Teacher Partylist
Eulogio R. Magsaysay, AVE Party-list
Nancy Catamco, 2nd Dist., North Cotabato
Philip A. Pichay,1st Dist., Surigao del Sur
Teodorico T. Haresco, Kasangga Partylist
Jose R. Ping-ay, Coop-Natcco Partylist

Lira Dalangin-Fernandez, Phil. Daily Inquirer
Back to top Go down
52 lawmakers sign vs. Aquino dole program
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
» Habs sign Subban, Benoit
» Best Elementary/Gr. 8 Basketball Program in Toronto
» Will a Slow Moving Vehicle sign make my mower street legal?
» 50 mile training program

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Basketbol ng Pilipinas :: Not just Basketball! :: Entertainment & Current Events-
Jump to: